Sugar Stems

(Milwaukee, WI)
Genre: Power Pop, Rock

Playing an engaging and energetic fusion of ’70s style power pop and ’60s garage rock, the Sugar Stems formed in Milwaukee, Wisconsin in 2007. The group features several veterans of the local music scene: lead vocalist and rhythm guitarist Betsy Heibler and bassist Stephanie Conard had both been members of the Flips, while drummer Jon Heibler had played with the Teenage Rejects, the Catholic Boys, Tuff Bananas, and Sticks ‘n’ Stones. After a handful of low-key acoustic gigs, the Sugar Stems played their first proper show in May 2008, with Zach Byrne (ex-Goodnight Loving) on lead guitar. Byrne soon left the group, and the guitar spot was taken over by Drew Fredrichsen (a veteran of the Leg Hounds and the Jetty Boys), completing the Sugar Stems’ definitive lineup. In 2009, the Sugar Stems made their recorded debut with a single for Bachelor Records, “Beat Beat Beat” b/w “Crybaby,” and the band’s first full-length release, The Sweet Sounds Of, followed in 2010. In 2012, the band completed their second album, Can’t Wait; it was originally released in Germany by Screaming Apple Records and in Japan by Dream On, while in 2013 it made its American debut via Dirtnap. The Sugar Stems introduced keyboard player Andy Harris on their third studio effort, 2014’s Only Come Out at Night (once again released in America by Dirtnap), while a live LP, Sugar Stems ‘n’ Friends, came out through Dusty’s Medical Records. Drummer, Bob Schaab, joined the group for live performances after 2014.

Last updated on October 4th, 2023 at 11:18 pm